Dear friends,


Greetings from IPSA


The Indian Political Science Association (IPSA) is the highest, the oldest and the largest academic and professionalbody of teachers and scholars of Political Science and Public Administration inIndia. This is the national association and non-profitregistered organization. The aims and intellectual traditions ofIPSA are- Advancement of Political Science; Scientific Studyof Politics; Dissemination of Knowledge; and RigorousPolitical Enquiry.


The Indian Political Science Association was established in December 1938 on the advice and invitation of Bharat RatnaPanditMadan Mohan Malviya at Varanasi. PanditGovindBallabh Pant, the then premier of United Province (presently Uttar Pradesh), was invited to preside over the inauguration of IPSA. The need to start an association had been felt for a long time and it was in May 1938 that it was actually decided. A circular was issued of the end of August 1938, inviting cooperation of scholars of Political Science for this auspicious journey.


The first conference was held on 22-24 December 1938 with the singing of VandeMataram song. PanditMadan Mohan Malviya, the Vice Chancellor, welcomed the delegates and spoke briefly of the pressing political issues facing the country. Dr. A.S. Altekar took the delegates to Sarnath for excursion. Dr. P.N. Banerjee of Calcutta was elected as President and Sri GurumukhNihal Singh of Banaras was elected as Secretary and Treasurer. Dr. Beni Prasad of Allahabad and Dr. V.S. RaM of Lucknow became Vice Presidents.


In September 1939, the IPSA started publication of a quarterly journal entitled “The Indian Journal of Political Science (IJPS)”. In 2009, the IPSA started publication of a bi-annual journal in Hindi entitled “BhartiyaRajnitiVigyanShodhPatrika” Prof. Sanjeev Kumar Sharma became the first Editor.


In its history of more than 83 years, IPSA has organised Annual Political Science Conferences regularly. Renowned political scientists of the country from all regions and institutions have held positions in IPSA Executive Committee and the Editorial Board. IPSA has held events throughout the country from Lahore (1940) to Trivandrum (1948), from Bombay (1941) to Calcutta (1950), from Waltair (1957) to Ahmedabad (1966). Mysore (3), Chennai (4), Jaipur (3), Calcutta (3), Lucknow (2), Hyderabad (3), Jodhpur (2), Agra (2), Aligarh (2), Poona (2), Ujjain (2) are some prominent places to hold the conference more than once.


The IPSA invites you to become the member of the association and actively participate in its activities.


Warm regards

Yours truly

(Sanjeev Kumar Sharma)

General Secretary and Treasurer

Indian Political Science Association